Tags

, , , , , , ,

Well, it has been a VERY long time since I have been on here and so much has happened since then, so let me give you a little recap and update!

First, for those of you who followed me and my story after our horrible car accident last year and my injury and recovery, let me recap and give you an update on that! If you don’t remember, my husband and I were in a pretty bad accident in January of 2015. I completely shattered my ankle and damaged a lot of nerves in my foot. It took a 5 hour surgery, 19 screws and 2 metal plates, 3 months in a lower leg cast (non-weight bearing) and a TON of physical therapy after that, but I was finally able to walk again! The last time I updated y’all, I believe I was just beginning to learn to walk again. The end of this month will be one year since the accident and my limp is almost completely gone, I don’t have any swelling anymore, I’m driving again, walking without any type of assistance and ALMOST pain free! I don’t have the range of motion that I used to have, but I probably never will. I can’t run, I won’t be walking any marathons in the near future, I still need to rest it, I still have pain and most likely always will, it still looks pretty ugly, I still get weird sensations in my foot, I still do not have complete feeling in all of my toes, I do not have full range of motion in my toes, my nerves are still very damaged in my foot and toes. It’s painful to clip my toenails, it is painful to shave my leg over all the metal, it’s painful to hit my ankle or foot on something, I can’t wear any type of shoe or boot that covers or rubs my ankle, I can’t wear high socks, I still have a numb/tingling sensation in first two toes and it can be difficult to do some things because I can only tilt my ankle so far in each direction. But, I am just so thankful to be walking again, so none of those things are going to keep me down. It has been a long and difficult road to recovery, but I made it! I want to thank all of you who followed my journey for your support!

For those of you who followed our story when we lost our daughter in September of 2014, let me give you a recap and update! Our daughter, Aleena Kay, was diagnosed with a rare but fatal bone disease, called Osteogenesis Imperfecta Type II, when I was about 22 weeks pregnant with her. We went in for a routine ultrasound to find out the gender and ended up finding out that our sweet baby girl would not survive long after birth. She was born on September 14, 2014, weighing a little over 2 pounds. She lived for just over an hour before passing away in my arms! That was the hardest thing we have ever and will ever have to go through. I have a blog dedicated to her and our story where you can read more, just search for TeamAleena here on WordPress! I am SO very happy to announce that we have welcomed a new baby! Tinzlee May was born on December 8, 2015 weighing 7 pounds 8 ounces! She was and is perfectly healthy! She looks so much like her big sister! 🙂 We are so in love with this sweet little girl and can not imagine life without her!

I’m going to try to start writing again and I hope you will be here to read it all! Thank you for sticking with me! 🙂

