My cast is off for good now and I have to begin physical therapy to regain range of motion in my ankle and to learn how to put weight on it and walk again.

The doctors say that I still have many months of hard work ahead of me and that I’ll have to have another surgery to remove some of the metal.

Let me show you a few pictures of my rebuilt ankle. Let me remind you that I have 19 screws and 2 plates, one on each side. My ankle is pretty small, so you’ll see on the left side of my ankle, there’s a screw poking out that will have to be removed. The right side looks like it has no bone at all because the metal plate is there now.

image

image

It looks even worse in person!

It’s been a little over 24 hours since I had the cast taken off. It is pretty sore. I can not put weight on it or move it very much. After having it in the cast for so long, it becomes VERY stiff. Once the cast comes off, you have to start loosening everything back up. The first exercise I’ve been told to do at home to help loosen things up and gain some more range of motion back, is to place a pen between my toes (or pretend to) and attempt to write the ABC’S without moving my leg, just my ankle/foot.

This is much harder than it seems because your ankle doesn’t really move too far in any direction. Trying to move it up, down and side to side makes it extremely sore and mine began swelling again. So, I had to take a break and just keep it elevated!

If your going through a similar injury, I want you to keep in mind that my injury was pretty bad and took a lot more hardware and work to fix than most broken ankles do. Yours may not be as bad as mine or take as much time to heal! This is ONLY my experience!

Thanks For Reading!
*LIVE*LAUGH*LOVE*

-Wife & Mother & Friend

