Well, tomorrow is the big day! I get the walking cast taken off and will be cast free from then on! I’m pretty excited to have this thing taken off and NOT have another one put right back on, but I’m getting nervous. I should be asleep right now, but my mind is going crazy just thinking about it.

Tomorrow will be the first day in 3 months that my foot will touch the ground. The first time that my leg and ankle will be out in the open and unprotected since the accident. The first time in what seems like forever that I will get to take a shower and not have to worry about keeping my cast out of the shower and dry!! Sooo many firsts will happen tomorrow! It’s the day I have been waiting for since the accident happened, yet as it gets closer, I get even more terrified.

There are so many thoughts running through my mind at the moment. The doctor has told me what to expect, when it comes to my foot touching the ground for the first time in so long and taking a step for the first time, but he can only tell me what he has seen other patients experience over the years, not exactly what I am going to feel!

After experiencing something so traumatic, it’s scary to think about walking on that foot again, all of the sensations I’m going to feel and the fact that my injury will no longer be protected by the cast! What if my ankle and/or foot won’t hold me up? What if something happens and I break it again somehow? I’m sure none of that will happen, but it still runs through your mind and it’s still pretty scary!

I’m not sure how tomorrow will turn out or how I will feel about it all when the day is over, but I’m hoping for the best. I guess I’ll just have to wait and see.

I’ll update again as soon as I can.

Thanks For Reading!
*LIVE*LAUGH*LOVE*

-Wife & Mother & Friend

