Tags

, , , ,

For those who don’t know, my son is 6 years old. He is such a great kid and I couldn’t be more proud of him!

Well, today he is watching a cartoon and he sees the mom singing a song to the toddler, trying to put him to sleep. He turns to me and asks if I ever sang to him when he was a baby. I told him I did and that I would sing and sing until he finally stopped crying and fell back asleep. He asked me what song I would sing, so I told him about the little song I made up.

I haven’t thought about those LONG nights in a very long time, but my son makes me remember like it was just yesterday! He was my first child and I was so in love. I was scared as time went on and friends and family kept telling me how fussy he was compared to other babies. At a doctor’s appointment he started screaming and crying and the doctor asked if he always cried that way. I remember being so worried and so exhausted that I just started crying with him. I told the doctor that he would start that cry, like he was in pain, and he would cry and scream for hours straight no matter what I did to comfort him. Finally I got some answers. My beautiful baby boy had colic!

For those who do not know, colic is horrible! Doctors aren’t sure what causes it or how to make it go away. Pretty much, some babies just get it and they can scream and cry for HOURS straight for no apparent reason at all and this can last for months! For a new parent, this can be VERY hard. You don’t want to feel like you are failing or doing something wrong. You are scared that you’re child is in some type of pain, even though you and the doctors can’t find anything wrong. You try EVERY home remedy, tip and idea and you do everything you know your baby likes to comfort them, yet they continue to scream an awful little cry! You’re exhausted, worried to death and scared.

Well, on one of those long nights, I can remember sitting in the dark living room and rocking back and forth in the rocking chair while my poor baby cried and cried. I had already changed his diaper, fed him, burped him, changed his clothes, tried walking back and forth for hours to calm him and it was going on our second hour in the rocking chair. I had already sang every lullaby that I could think of and by this point I was too tired to remember the words to any of them. So, I started singing a simple little song, “Mommy loves K…. K loves Mommy.” I sang it to a little lullaby tune and closed my eyes and just rocked. It was something simple that I could continue to sing, over and over, not ever forgetting the words from being so tired. I remember almost singing myself to sleep and then he just stopped crying. He was ASLEEP! Of course, I just thought he had finally worn himself out, but every night when he would begin that cry, I would take us to that rocking chair and sing that song and he would go right back to sleep!

The doctor said that he had probably just grown out of the colic, but I was so happy that I wasn’t going to leave it up to chance, so that became our bedtime routine. I continued that routine until his second birthday and then he would just fall asleep on his own at night, so I stopped without a second thought. I remember on those long nights, I would just look into his beautiful eyes and wonder what he would be like as a little kid. Six years old seemed so far away, but looking back it feels like I just blinked and time flew by!

As I was telling him about our little song and our bedtime routine, he was just giggling the whole time. I told him that he loved it as a baby and he gave me a big hug and said, “Thanks mom. I still love it!”. Then he went back to watching his little cartoon.

Tonight, after dinner and a bath, he asked if we could do our bedtime routine. Before I could answer, he said that I could just lay with him and sing since we didn’t have our rocking chair anymore. So, that’s exactly what I did and he sang it with me for a while and then drifted off to sleep. As he slept, I sat there and thanked God. I thanked Him for getting me through those long hard nights, for blessing me with such an amazing little boy and for helping my little boy grow up to be so kind and caring.

To any new parents out there, I offer up my best advice. Don’t get too overwhelmed with that precious baby. Remember that each day you get through is another day that they have grown older! Before you know it, you’re going to have a 6 year old and you’re going to be thinking back to when they were a baby. Just give them all of your love, protect them and don’t miss a thing because even if it doesn’t seem like it now, time will go by SO fast and you will miss it! Love that blessing of yours with all that you have!

Thanks For Reading!
*LIVE*LAUGH*LOVE*

-Wife & Mother & Friend

