Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I don’t know about you, but I know that every time my period comes around, I HATE it! I wonder why in the world we have to go through it every single month for how ever many days! I laugh to myself thinking about stupid jokes that say things like, “What Bleeds For 7 Days And Still Lives?” and sometimes I wish I could just make it stop!!

Men really have no idea what we go through with our damn menstrual cycle. They think it’s no big deal, that we should just go get some tampons and control our emotions, stop PMSing. If you happen to be a man reading this, do NOT ever tell a woman those things. You wouldn’t last a day dealing with it!

Not only are we bleeding nonstop for days, which makes us uncomfortable and makes us (or at least me) feel like I constantly need a HOT bath, but it screws with everything else too! It messes with our hormones and emotions which makes us switch moods constantly. We can go from happy, to angry, to crying in a matter of minutes! It makes our bodies change. We feel bloated, sometimes we get horrible stomach cramps, we can become restless or exhausted. It can mess with our sleep schedule. Every month we have to be prepared for when it’s going to come, so that we aren’t, just for an example, wearing white pants/shorts that day. We especially have to plan around it during the summer when we wish we could be out in our swim suits worry free at all times!

I’m sure it seems like no big deal, but it is! It only seems like no big deal to men because they aren’t the ones having to go through it every month, just like pregnancy and child birth! A man wouldn’t last a day in a woman’s shoes. Period! No pun intended!

Then there is the other side ladies. Your period doesn’t come. Now, if you’re trying to have a baby, this is great news. If you are not trying to have a baby, this can be frightening and nerve wracking!

This is my current dilemma! My husband and I were not trying to have a baby, but would happily welcome one! My period usually comes on the 15th of every month. It is now the 1st of March and mine never came for February.

But, on January 30th, we were in a bad car accident and I was injured and it was all very stressful and traumatic. As all of my ladies out there know, stress and other things can also cause a late or missed period. So can pregnancy.

You’re probably wondering why I haven’t taken a pregnancy test right? Well, to be completely honest, I’m scared! My last pregnancy did not go very well and it ended in our daughter passing away shortly after birth due to a rare disease last September. While I was in the hospital because of our car wreck, I had multiple x rays, a CT scan and a lot of different pain medications. I was also put under anesthesia for surgery to fix my injury. All of those things could harm an unborn child.

Because of the severity of my injury, I will be in a leg cast for at least 3 months and then physical therapy will start to see if I can walk again. There is a chance that I won’t walk again. All of that is scary by itself. Adding a pregnancy to that will make recovery harder and I will be worried to death that something is wrong with our baby, like last time, but because of everything done in the hospital after our wreck.

So, what do I do? Do I wait it out and see if my next period comes on time in 14 days? Do I just put my fears aside and take a pregnancy test?

What do you think? Do you think I’m pregnant, or do you think my period hasn’t come because of the stress and trauma?

I could really use some advice ladies! Thank you all in advance!

**UPDATE ** 03/03/15

Well, my hubby went out and bought me two pregnancy tests last night. I was going to wait and take them first thing this morning, but of course I forgot, being half asleep and all. So, about 30 minutes ago I decided to just go ahead and take a test, instead of waiting until tomorrow morning. I figured that if I am pregnant, I’m far enough along that it wouldn’t matter what time of day I take the darn thing.

Anyways, I went to take it. I peed on the stick and placed it on the counter to wait. I used one of the digital ones, so I was sitting there waiting for it to say pregnant or not pregnant. It was taking too long for me, I’m not very patient. So, I went to wipe and BAM, there’s my lovely old friend! I laughed and turned to see “not pregnant” on the test!

This just goes to show how much a trauma and stress can mess with your cycle! Usually when I am taking a pregnancy test, it’s because I am trying to get pregnant and when I see that negative or not pregnant sign, I feel sad and disappointed. Not this time! After all of the medications that I have had to take due to this injury and the long recovery that I have ahead of me, I am relieved that I don’t have an unborn baby growing inside me and possibly being harmed from everything I went through! Then there’s a chance that I may never walk again. That is a journey of its own that I may have to face before I can think about bringing another child into this world!

Just thought y’all would enjoy an update/ending to my problem!

Thanks For Reading!
*LIVE*LAUGH*LOVE*

-Wife & Mother & Friend

