Tags

, , , , ,

Well, if you’ve been following my blog, you know that I broke my ankle very badly and am in a leg cast.

I live in central Arkansas. Last Monday, February 16th, we started getting pretty bad winter weather. Everything was closed Monday and Tuesday. Places reopened Wednesday, only to close again for the remainder of the week. It is now Tuesday February 24th and due to more winter weather, businesses have been closed today and yesterday. According to the news, we are expected to receive MORE sleet and snow. This is not good for me.

I ran out of my pain medication last Thursday. So, I called medical exchange and had them page my orthopedic doctor because his office was closed. The doctor called me back and I told him that I was out of my medicine and was supposed to see him the next day (Friday), but they were expected to be closed again. I asked if he could PLEASE call me in some more medicine to the pharmacy because I didn’t think I was going to make it through the pain. He says that he can’t!

Due to new laws concerning pain medications/narcotics and other certain controlled substances, doctors were no longer allowed to give refills on those medicines or call them in to the pharmacy by phone or fax. The prescription must be picked up by the patient and be hand delivered to the pharmacy! They made these laws to try and stop people who are prescribed the medicines, but sell them instead of taking them. They are trying to stop the people who are abusing these medicines. Well, I understand all of that, but where does that leave me and others like me, in a situation like this when we really need the medicine??

I asked him what I should do. He told me I would just have to be tough and be seen as soon as they reopened. I couldn’t believe this! I spent most of the day crying and trying to breath through it all. Finally came night time and I took my sleep medication and went to bed.

Like I said before, it is now Tuesday, I have gone 5 days with no pain medication. I wouldn’t wish this pain on anyone. It’s horrible. And because we are expecting more winter weather tomorrow and Thursday, I will most likely end up going even longer because the doctor’s office will remain closed!

I’m sure some of you are thinking, “Go to the emergency room”, I’ve thought about that too. I asked the orthopedic surgeon if I could just do that and explain to them what was going on. He said I could try, but because of these new laws, I would be “flagged” as a person just trying to get pain medicine from multiple doctors and that they may give me a shot to stop the pain for a while, but they wouldn’t write me a prescription, they would just refer me back to the doctor I am already seeing! So, of course I haven’t gone and don’t want to because I don’t want to be “flagged” or for people to think I’m trying to do something illegal.

It is just really sad and irritating that our health system has come to this! There is NO reason why I should have to suffer through unbearable pain when the doctor could easily make me more comfortable with medication! But people have messed it up for those of us who really need it because they want to fake injuries/illnesses and illegally buy/sell their medications. It’s just horrible.

There should definitely be exceptions to these new laws. I have broken bones and am stuck with nothing but Tylenol because of the people who came up with this brilliant law.

My personal opinion is that drug dealers and users have been doing this for years and years and they will continue to do it one way or another! They will continue to find ways to get the medicines and ways to sell/buy them. These new laws may be a stump for them, but they will find a way around it to fuel their addiction. With that being said, I believe this law is hurting people like me more than it is stopping the illegal activity!

I pray this weather clears up soon because I might just loose my mind!

Thanks For Reading!
*LIVE*LAUGH*LOVE*

-Wife & Mother & Friend

