Tags

, , , , ,

I’ve had so much happen in my life over the last two years that has involved death or near death experiences. Let me just give you an idea so that you can try and imagine where I’m coming from.

Two years ago, my Hubby’s father died. He had been sick for a while, but it still seemed so sudden and shocking to us. A few months later, my hubby has to work after an ice storm. He hits an ice patch on the freeway, spins out of control and was about a foot away from going down a HUGE drop off that held a bunch of metal beams, which would have killed him if the car hadn’t stopped. Last year started out great, we found out that we were having a baby and thought it would be a better year. Two months later, my mother-in-law gets hit by a tornado. She made it to the storm shelter in time, but lost EVERYTHING, including her 3 dogs. One month after that, we found out that our daughter had a rare disease and would not survive long after birth. On September 14, 2014, I gave birth to my beautiful baby girl. She lived a little over an hour. We have only just begun the new year, yet we have already faced another hardship. January 30, 2015, my hubby and I were in a bad car accident. My hubby broke his knee cap, but I shattered all the bones in my ankle along with tendons, muscles and nerves throughout my ankle and foot. While we are SO lucky to be alive, I may never walk again.

So, as I lay here thinking about my future and about the possibility of never walking again and about all that we’ve been through in just two years, I can’t help but wonder what will happen next. Then I started thinking about dying. Nobody wants to talk about dying, but you should! Your family should know what you would want if you were ever put on life support, became brain dead and/or died. It should be discussed because we are all going to die at some point. It’s only a matter of how and when.

That brings me to my point of this whole post. I have thought long and hard about this and have come to the conclusion that the best way to die would be in my sleep. No pain, no fear, just slip away.

What do you think? How would you want to die if you could choose? Would you want to know ahead of time, so that you could say your goodbyes or would it be easier not knowing?

I’m really interested in your thoughts!

Thanks For Reading!
*LIVE*LAUGH*LOVE*

-Wife & Mother & Friend

