Tags

, , ,

THURSDAY 02/12/15

Well, I went to see the doctor for my post-surgery follow up and to get a hard cast put on.

I couldn’t sleep all night, the night before, because I was so scared of what the doctor was going to say and I feared the pain that came along with having my splint removed!

When we got into a room and the doctor started unwrapping my leg, I just cried. I was so afraid to look down and see what my ankle looked like after the surgery. The last time I saw it, it was a jumbled mess! It was painful having the splint removed because they put it on so tight after surgery to make sure that nothing moves. But, in all honesty, it didn’t hurt as bad as I had imagined in my mind!

The doctor told me to just look down at it and so I did. It’s amazing how normal it looked considering how bad I had broken all of the bones. Of course I had stitches going up the front, right side and back of my ankle. My foot and ankle were still pretty bruised, scratched up and just wounded all over, but the shape was back to normal.

He showed me where the metal plates and screws were placed to hold everything together. He told me that it looked to be healing okay and that we would do xrays in 4 weeks to see how the bone has grown.

I asked why I couldn’t move my toes and why I had so many weird and painful sensations constantly going through my foot. He showed me where I had torn the muscle and tendons and he had to put it all back together. I also damaged some nerves which is causing the painful sensations. The bad news?? There’s nothing he or I can do about it. I just have to learn to handle it. Yes, I am taking pain medication and muscle relaxers, but because I did so much damage, the medicine only takes the edge off.

He expects me to be in this cast for at LEAST 3 months. After that we will attempt movement and then putting weight on it again.

I wish I could say that I’ve figured out ways to ease the pain and discomfort, but I haven’t. I wish I could say I’m almost through this, but it’s only week 3.

Thanks For Reading!
*LIVE*LAUGH*LOVE*

-Wife & Mother & Friend

